News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Detonating 493 and what I did to stop it.

Started by Kern Dog, December 15, 2013, 08:05:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

2Luke2

Awesome Red! Let us know how it turns out. It will be nice if you can get it all sorted out finally. Should definitely feel like a huge weight was removed from your shoulders after it's all said and done.

505charger

I built my 505 stroker for my Charger with Eddy heads, 240@ .050 cam, 10.7 compression. I live at 4000 feet. It pings like a pig on the 91 octane gas that is available. Checked timing, jetting, tdc Mark on the dampner. Still pinged on anything more than partial throttle.
        My cure was to mix 100LL avgas 50/50 with the 91 octane gas. I'm a pilot but it should not be a problem for most folks to find a small airport to buy the gas. $6/ gallon or less. A lot cheaper than race gas and cured my problem.
        I'm really upset at the bad advice I was given to push the compression so high. What would I have lost power wise with 10-1? 20 hp? It sure has been a pain to mix gas. I think conservative on compression would be the way to go. The engine is a beast! Everything I hoped for. Still working on a rear main seal leak. Seal number 4 this week. Having a pro put this one in.

2Luke2

Quote from: 505charger on January 11, 2014, 06:45:38 PM
I built my 505 stroker for my Charger with Eddy heads, 240@ .050 cam, 10.7 compression. I live at 4000 feet. It pings like a pig on the 91 octane gas that is available. Checked timing, jetting, tdc Mark on the dampner. Still pinged on anything more than partial throttle.