News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Headers, whats the real gain?

Started by Lord Warlock, January 30, 2014, 02:03:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lord Warlock

Just wondering, back in the 70s and 80s the magazines touted headers as one of the few really good modifications for big blocks and other muscle cars.  But how much of a hp/tq improvement do they really make over the factory hipo manifolds?  For years I wanted to put a set on the car, now i'm pretty much going to live with the factory manifolds primarily for looks and that was the way it came when I got it,  but I always wondered what i was missing power wise from skipping the headers.  Which ones are popular? I remember Eagle, Hooker, thorson ? and a few other names from the past.  I can't argue a point I have no experience with.  I do know  how improving the exhaust systems have really improved how some of them ran in the upper RPM ranges, where they would nose over on stock systems, but never really had that problem with the charger when i did run it in the old days. 
69 RT/SE Y3 cream yellow w/tan vinyl top and black r/t stripe. non matching 440/375, 3:23, Column shift auto w/buddy seat, tan interior, am/fm w/fr to back fade, Now wears 17" magnum 500 rims and Nitto tires. Fresh repaint, new interior, new wheels and tires.

1974dodgecharger

If u got the heads then headers work but if u yave stock heads minimal gains. I think some forum members did testing on some headers with stock 906 and saw only 5hp gains. 

Get tye heads right first as cooter and my uncle would say 3 tips first is heads, 2nd is heads, and 3rd well is heads.......

Cooter

Doesn't matter if it's only 10 hp. IT'S A GAIN. Headers are lighter, produce a better sound, better fuel mileage,  and make more power.