News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Trunk Pan Advice (Pics)

Started by 69fourspd, March 31, 2006, 01:27:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

69fourspd

I am hoping for some advice.  I am a novice working to get my 69 a nice driver.  The trunk pan has some deep scale and pinholes in the center of the pan.  See Pics.

My questions are:

1. Would you not remove the pan and coat with rust encapsulator, even if a new pan was available to you with out any cost?
2. Should I replace the whole thing, or just cut the center section.  This would leave all the spot welds in tact on the inner fenders, trunk extensions, real valence.... and like I said I am a novice and this is my first time.  69hemi did something similar to this on his site and looks great. 
3. If I cut out the pan, what would be a good weldable primer to lay down on the underside of the pan and the frame to prevent rust from growing?

I appreciate any help or tips you can give me. 

8WHEELER

I just went through the same situation a month ago on my wife's charger. Her trunk was in worse shape than
yours, and the body man did not want or think it needed to be replaced. But her car will only be going to car
shows so I talked him into putting in a hole new pan, I mean you could put your small finger through it in two spots.

But as a daily driver, I would tend to do a little scraping of the surface rust, seal it with a good primer and replace it
when you go through the hole car for show, it is a lot of work.

Dan
74 Dart Sport 360, just for added fun.

69fourspd

Thanks for the reply Dan.  I guess my problem with the pitting and rust is there is none on any other pan on the car. Seems like this would be a good time to replace instead of after I have an expensive paint job done. 

The Ghoul