News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

400 vs. 440 Stroker Build up

Started by EffinDuff, June 11, 2007, 09:54:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

EffinDuff

I would like to thank everyone in advance for your input on this.  I am still learning about alot of this so please bear with me.  I am looking to build a stroker to drop into my 72 charger.  It currently has a sloppy '77 400 in it which runs like an absolute pig (shocker).  I have been doing some reading and asking around and have learned alot but I wanted to ask the pro's bouncin around this site about a couple things.

1) A few people have told me that a 400 block is better to stroke compared to the 440.  I have been told because the cylinder walls on the 400 are thicker and also because of the low deck height it is a stronger motor (durability wise).  Any thoughts?

2) Also is it worth stroking my '77 400 block or is it better to get a 68-72 block?  Again I have read that as the years went on cheaper metal was used causing the blocks to be weaker.  I read that in an article about sonic wall testing.

3) I am also looking to put some Eddy heads on the stroker (looking to build a 500 stroker unless other suggestions).  It looks like there are two diff versions the 84 and 88cc versions.  Which would work the best and whats the difference in 4cc?

4) Would the 440 HP exhaust manifold be sufficient or do i really need headers?

I am sure i have 100 more questions i just cant think of them right now.  Thanks alot guys.  :icon_smile_big:

Mike DC

--  440 blocks vs 400 blocks?  Lotsa unsettled debates about that one.