News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Powder coating tips?

Started by The Ghoul, May 02, 2006, 08:14:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Ghoul

Just picked up a powder coater and will be picking up an electric oven soon (salvation army special).
Any one have tips on process/bake times/ diffrent types of powder?
I am a compleet noob to the process but feel very encouraged by a guy at work that worked in a powder coating shop and seems to know his stuff. I just dont like to get all my info from just one persion, just incase they are full of BS.

Silver R/T

you bake it usually at 425 degrees, not sure how long, guess depends on part, how soon it can gain temperature.
http://www.cardomain.com/id/mitmaks

1968 silver/black/red striped R/T
My Charger is hybrid, it runs on gas and on tears of ricers
2001 Ram 2500 CTD
1993 Mazda MX-3 GS SE
1995 Ford Cobra SVT#2722

The Ghoul

oh, It goes by part?
The powder came with a 'suggested bake time'
20minuts @ 350
or
10minuts @ 400
It dosent make much sence to me that it would be dependent on the part, seeing how as its just the surface that needs to get to temp??
But I have been wrong in the past.

daytonalo

AS THE OWNER OF A POWDERCOAT BUSINESS YOU ALMOST ANSWERED YOUR OWN QUESTION . FOR EXAMPLE IF YOU POWDERCOAT AN ENGINE BLOCK LIKE I JUST DID THE WHOLE PART HAS TO GET UP TO TEMPERATURE TO MAKE THE POWDER FLOW . IF YOU POWDERCOAT A VALVE COVER IT WILL GET TO TEMPERATURE MORE QUICKLY THAN A ENGINE BLOCK . IF YOU ARE STILL LOST LET ME KNOW .

The Ghoul

Quote from: daytonalo on May 03, 2006, 09:03:30 AM