News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

HellCat Parking Lot.

Started by hemi-hampton, February 16, 2019, 03:26:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kern Dog

Christ..I thought I was the same age as you guys. I graduated High School in 1983. In '82-83 I worked at Burger King, starting at $3.35/hr. I saved up to buy my first of 26 A body cars...a '69 2 door Dart !

BSB67

No shortage of folks on these muscle car forums talking about young kids cant afford old muscle cars, cant afford new cars, cant, cant, cant. Ive said it before, like some already has on this thread, THEY DONT WANT muscle cars.  Yes there are exceptions.

I have three kids in their 20s.  With friends and family and work, I probably know 50 young adults between 20 and 35.  They all come for middle class upbringing, at best. I don't think any one of them would want a muscle car.  All but 1 maybe 2 are doing just fine. All independent and reasonably self sufficient.  Some have very little money left over after bills, some have purchased a second home, some have several rental properties, some with considerable school debt, some with no school debt, some with $100,000+ boat&car, others driving 10 year old Accord's or similar.  I look at this group of young adults, and think they are doing a lot better than the thugs and dead beats that I grew up around.  Most cannot do the stuff I can do, mostly because they don't want to.  They also seem to have much better life experiences than we did at that age.

For the young adults that are financial misfits, its hard to blame anything but poor parenting in that regard.  Again, there are exceptions

500" NA, Eddy head, pump gas, exhaust manifold with 2 1/2 exhaust with tailpipes
4150 lbs with driver, 3.23 gear, stock converter
11.68 @ 120.2 mph

hemi-hampton