News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Bulge On Inner Rear Wheel Arch

Started by JMF, June 08, 2019, 12:30:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JMF

So I was measuring under the rear wheel arches for some new wheels and tires I will be buying and I notice on the inside of the arch just above the tire on the passenger side rear there is a slight bulge in the metal, not sure what would have caused this ? Maybe a previous accident years ago ? Problem is I think it's going to cause clearance problems when the new wheels/tires are fitted because i'm going with a taller tire than what's on there currently, is there any way of smoothing it out or knocking it back in without doing more damage ? Obviously I don't want to cause another bulge on the outer wheel arch, i'm a bit of a newbie when it comes to bodywork issues so are the wheel arches double skinned ? The driver's side does have a little bit of one too but it's more of a crease so I don't think it will cause problems, sorry not a Charger, it's on my 70 Satellite, Many thanks

green69rt

Can you get a picture?  Can you see the bulge from inside the car?  Wheel wells are a single layer on you car.

JMF

Please see pic below, the bulge on the inner arch sticks out about 1 and a half

green69rt

If it's the part at the very top of the picture where it looks like the two layers of metal have separated, that looks like damage to me.  Just pound it back to a nice curve and repaint or undercoat.

Not entirely clear but it looks like the seam between the wheel well and the truck floor has opened up.  Can you see anything from inside the trunk?

kent