News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

WTB: 1968 Charger with 440 with no rust and excellent cosmetics

Started by WestWeires, October 09, 2021, 04:41:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WestWeires

We are looking for a 1968 Charger to buy for my stepson and myself to enjoy.  We plan to keep the car indefinitely as a family heirloom.  My stepson is an experienced auto mechanic by trade so we can maintain or repair the car relatively economically.

Must haves:
-Cosmetic condition is very important.  We don't want the cost or delays associated with rust repair, re-chroming or repainting etc.  No rust!
-We are also looking for a car equipped with a 440 cubic inch engine.  It does not have to be original to the car.  Stock condition or a mild rebuild with a little hotter cam is ok, but not modified to where it's street manners are compromised too much.
-A mostly original unmodified looking car in good driving condition.

Important but not a deal breaker:
-a car that was born a RT.
-a car that came from the factory with a four speed transmission.
-a car that has power steering.
-if it's a torqueflite car it must have a console shifter.  No column shifter.

Nice to have:
-Factory air conditioning, as part of the plumbing will be there to add modern Vintage AC.
-power brakes with front disc brakes.
-tic toc tach.

Exterior color and interior trim:
-Black, black vinyl roof, black interior top choice.
-Blues and greens liked.
-Red ok
-No white, gold, silver, beige, tan, bronze, burgundy, yellow or turquoise cars.
-We would prefer a vinyl roof, preferably black.

Some cars online (that we have not seen) that fit our general description have asking prices in the $70,000-$80,000 range.