News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Bored .30 440

Started by 69Charger_440, June 23, 2006, 12:16:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

69Charger_440

If a 440 has been bored at .30, is there still room to play with in the future or is it at its end?  It's a '69 block, I believe.

Fernando

TylerCharger69

I've heard of people going .060 over with no trouble.   Then I've heard of others  say they developed overheating problems  boring that large.   That would have to be your decision to make.

69Charger_440

Forgive my naiveness on this subject, as I am still learning   :-[, but once you are at .60, is the engine still usable or what could you do, if anything, to keep it for future use?   ???

Fernando

firefighter3931

Usually going .060 on a stock block is no problem. On a performance type build it doesn't hurt to have the block sonic checked to see what's there in terms of cylinder wall thickness. A block that has gone .060 over can still be saved but it's expensive. It involves sleeving all the bores but then you'll have a perfectly good block to start over with. If it's a numbers matching engine it might be worth the cost and effort assuming you want to keep the whole package together.

Ron
68 Charger R/T "Black Pig" Street/Strip bruiser, 70 Charger R/T 440-6bbl Cruiser. Firecore ignition  authorized dealer ; contact me with your needs

69Charger_440

Thanks for your advice, guys. 

Fernando

TylerCharger69