News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Shop heat

Started by Blown70, October 25, 2005, 11:10:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blown70

NHCharger,

Thanks that is what I was thinking,  HECK here in North Dakota.... -40 a few times in the winter is not that uncommon.  Adding wind chill welll     :rotz:

I will have to check into those heaters.  Did you connect it yourself?

Thanks again,

Tom

NHCharger

Quote from: Blown70 on October 28, 2005, 09:03:44 AM
NHCharger,

Did you connect it yourself?

Thanks again,

Tom

Nope, a man's got to know his limitations.
As a builder I do a lot of things myself, but I don't like to play with gas unless it's a emergency. Also in NH you need to be licensed to install a gas appliance, even a stove or dryer. If I installed the heater myself and there was a malfunction which caused a fire I'm not sure my insurance company would cover it.
72 Charger- Base Model
68 Charger-R/T Clone
69 Charger Daytona clone- current moneypit
79 Lil Red Express - future moneypit
88 Ramcharger 4x4-moneypit in waiting
2014 RAM 2500HD Diesel

firefighter3931

Quote from: NHCharger on October 27, 2005, 08:44:37 PM
Hey Blown, here is a closer pic of my shop heater, it's a 60,000 BTU unit. My shop is insulated with R-19 in the walls and R-30 in the ceiling. I didn't use any styrofoam insulation under the slab because I think it's pointless unless your using radiant floor heat, plus it would have cost $1,400. just for the insulation. Also my windows are double pane, low-E glass. Since I built it myself I know it's pretty tight.
Last January, which was one of the coldest months on record, it cost me $132.00 to heat the shop. That's setting the temp at 52 and raising it to 60 when I work in there. Propane was running about $ 1.86/gallon then.