News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

383 Engine carb/cam upgrades - newbie

Started by BIGBLCK11, September 30, 2010, 12:04:39 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BIGBLCK11

Hi All, I need some advice on engine upgrades.  I am a newbie to Mopars and by no means an engine tech.  I have read through many posts on 383 builds here, but they vary per application of course.  So, I figured I might as well just post mine and see what you recommend.  This is for my 70 Charger, that came with a rebuilt stock 383, .030 over flat top pistons, 2bbl carb, 2.76 open rear, 727 auto on the column.  I have already replaced the intake /carb with a eddy RPM and an eddy 750.  I swapped out the diff with a 3.73 truetrac(Thanks DoctorDiff). The rear  tires are 27" tall.  I have a rebuilt 833 4spd, std ratio(Thanks Brewer's) and most of the parts to convert the tranny, so it will be a stick by winter(I hope).  I also have a set of 1 3/4 Doug's headers for it.  The car was not running great with the 1411 carb, which I have since read(too late) is not favored by many on here.  I guess they can be setup with enough tinkering, but after reading all the posts on hard starts when warm  and off-idle stumble,  I do not want to mess with it.  It did run a lot better with an eddy 600 that my brother loaned me.  I thought maybe the 750 was just too much carb, but I have seen a number of posts on running a Holley 750 DP on a stock 383.  I want to make the switch to a Holley double pumper, but thought a 650 or 700 might be better.  I am also looking at cams.  I have read good things on here about the Lunati Voodoo 60303 cam.  I am debating on going the extra mile and getting the RPM 84cc heads. 68Blue's combo sounds pretty good (84cc heads,RPM intake,750 DP,Comp 21-223-4) My main question is which carb/cam combo to