News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Sanding Tips

Started by Matthan, September 14, 2009, 03:13:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Matthan

I know there are many different options  on sanding but what grit do you use and in what order. Also do you wet sand the primer before paint? I am not very experienced on body work but I don't care if I mess up because I want to learn so I am will to try.

tricky lugnuts

I'm not an expert and certainly not advocating what I say as the good word, but as far as what grit to start with, it of course depends on what you're doing...

If you've got heavy rust to knock down, or want to hog out a bunch of old body filler, well, then you want something tough like 36 grit to make short work of it. If you're using power tools and something heavy like 36 or 40 grit, be careful and don't "sand" too much in one spot. It can warp the panel if it gets too hot, I've always been told.

If you're looking to sand down body filler that you've applied, I think people generally start with 80, work to 150, and so on, always using a block of some sort and sanding from different directions. The ultimate goal, other than a straight panel, is to make sure there are no visible scratches/gouges left in the body filler and that everything is "feathering" out nicely.

If you're just looking to do a scuff and repaint over existing paint, we used to start (after trim removal, a wash, dry, de-wax and degrease) with wet sanding using something like 400 grit (with block) to knock it down. Prime any areas you burn through.