News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

69 "Cali"fornia Car 440 stock build ......... DYNO RESULTS

Started by PocketThunder, April 09, 2010, 11:14:26 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

PocketThunder

Quote from: 375instroke on May 25, 2010, 05:42:23 PM
I hate the shotgun method.  The ballast resistor is just a wire.  It works or it doesn't.  If the car runs, tap it to see if there is something loose causing your intermittent misfire.  Same for the coil.  I've never had a coil or ballast go bad on me, and I've been driving pieces of junk for 25 years now.  All of them with points and a ballast.  Seeing as you have the "race" ignition module, I'd suspect it.  The tach jumping is what leads me in that direction.  It's driven by the ignition system, not engine RPM, so an erratic ignition would cause it to jump around.  What's the voltage on your coil positive terminal when running?

I just ran the car and the voltage at the coil between the positive and negative is between 7 to 8 to 12 and back to 7.   i'll get a video of it shortly.

Here it is:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y0DBSizZyt4

Paul
"Liberalism is a disease that attacks one's ability to understand logic. Extreme manifestations include the willingness to continue down a path of self destruction, based solely on a delusional belief in a failed ideology."

PocketThunder

Quote from: tan top on May 25, 2010, 03:09:35 PM
Quote from: Hemidog on May 25, 2010, 08:05:44 AM
Quote from: tan top on May 25, 2010, 07:57:34 AM
yes !think its a race only one though , for a electronic ignition set up  :scratchchin:   :scratchchin:???? :popcrn:
yep :iagree:
they can over heat & cook the coil when used on the street  :shruggy:

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/DCC-3690732