News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Adjusting solid lifters

Started by steves66, January 24, 2006, 06:30:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

steves66

More questions for the pros! I am getting ready to install my eheads heads on my 493 stroker build and need some freshening up on my lifter adjustments. I have a solid cam with the 1.6 Harland Sharp roller rockers on. This is my first build with a solid set up. What is the best technique to adjusting solid lifters and correct lash?

firefighter3931

Steve, i like to use the 90* rotation method. Basicly, you bring the motor up to TDC on the compression stroke and start there. Rotate the engine 90* and adjust 2 valves....then 90* and 2 more....keep going until they're all done. I'll post the MP lashing chart for you to use...download the chart and print it off for future reference.  :icon_smile_big:

(1) The lash spec will be on the cam card....should be .018 for your cam but check it to be sure. Aluminum heads grow (expand) with heat so you'll want to recheck it when the engine is hot at a later time.

(2) If you're using a double valvespring then pull out the inner springs to reduce pressure during the cam breakin...this will prevent a lobe failure. This is very important...too much pressure will hurt the cam.

(3) After you've got everything mocked up, rotate the engine over by hand with the breaker bar. Have a look at the lifters and make sure that they're spinning in their respective bores with the lash set to spec. This is also very important....if the lifters don't spin (rotate) the cam will wipe. Make sure to re-coat the lifter faces with moly lube before firing the engine.