News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

71 charger rear end options

Started by Wolfie12B, December 04, 2012, 04:57:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wolfie12B

I just purchased a 71 Charger that was originally a 318. The rear end is just a tube... So i need an axle. Now I have a questions. I am new at this. But i have a Chrysler 8.25 from a 1997 Cherokee. So because I havent gotten the Charger home yet. And I havent had the chance to go back and measure the axle. But if anyone can help me, thatd be great. Its not all that easy to find parts where I live in Wisconsin. So if i can get the axle i already have to work. I kinda want to use it. Has 3.55 gears in it.

Might be a stupid noob question. But I thought Id ask and maybe save myself some time.

Thanks for the help. Sorry if its a dumb question

FLG

Welcome.

So your saying you just ned a center section and axles?or just a center section?

Wolfie12B

Thank you. Right now. Its just a tube. So no internal parts at all. Im not 100% sure seeing i dont have it home to open up and actually look at. So im asking 2 things. 1 could i put the parts from the 8.25 in axle it already has. Or put the whole axle under it?

John_Kunkel

It's unlikely that the complete rear end from a Jeep would fit in a B-body without major mods. (consider the pinion offset)

The 8 1/4" is a tricky rear end when it comes to swapping internal parts, the differentials usually have a narrow range of gears that they'll work with so gear swapping can be expensive.
Pardon me but my karma just ran over your dogma.

Wolfie12B

So its just smarter to try and find an axle then? I know the 8 1/4 is a pain in the arse... Sadly. But it was worth asking. Bette to find out if what i have would work instead of paying alot if i already have 1 thatd work.

JB400