News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

505 engine build complete and Dyno Tested

Started by john108, July 14, 2014, 01:55:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

john108

I have been buying parts for this engine for many many years.  Finally the engine was built and dyno tested.
I followed the recommendations that were provided on this board, except for the cam.  I was told, in no uncertain terms, that I am giving up horsepower.  The advice was spot-on as I compared my dyno data to others that posted their data.  I was down some horsepower, and max torque but that is OK as my car, when completed, may see the strip only on a rare occasion.  My decision was based on getting a more street friendly engine with approximately 14 inches of idle vacuum (much greater at cruise).  So, I got the vacuum and eventually we will see how street friendly it will be.

RECHRGD

13.53 @ 105.32

john108

Here is the graph.  It won't win any races but looks good to me.

RECHRGD

Those numbers are great for a street car.  Wish I had that kind of power under the hood.  Nothing to be ashamed of there at all....
13.53 @ 105.32

Musicman

Al

These are great numbers for a street car lots of tire frying torque  :cheers:
1968 Dodge Charger, 383, UU1

firefighter3931

Nice work John  :2thumbs:

I know you've been sorting this one out for awhile and we've exchanged a lot of pm's over the past few years on this build.  :icon_smile_big:

I'd be happy with 530hp/600tq on pump gas with 14in of idle vacuum.  :cheers:

How about a quick rundown of the build  ;)

Ron
68 Charger R/T "Black Pig" Street/Strip bruiser, 70 Charger R/T 440-6bbl Cruiser. Firecore ignition  authorized dealer ; contact me with your needs

john108

Here is the Parts List

firefighter3931