News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Painless wiring?

Started by chargervic, August 18, 2015, 05:38:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

chargervic

I have been asked to re-wire a 68 Charger that has been heavily modified with engine wiring hidden, firewall smoothed, etc. A stock dash or engine side harness will not work. Has anyone used a Painless Wiring kit on these cars? The reviews I see on Summit's site for Painless Charger kits are not great and the one I see listed is for 70 ( Key in column).
Any ideas guys? I have lots of experience with these cars and wiring, just trying to get a good start with getting a decent kit to work with.
1968 Charger 451 Six Pack
2004 3500 Cummins
2002 Grand Caravan

comet_666

Look into a Ron Francis kit. The XP-777 kit is what I had. Didn't use it but it may be something to look into.

chargervic

Thanks for the reply. I saw some of your earlier posts after I asked my question. It looks like this job will be a real challenge as EVERYTHING has been hacked up/modified and no place to mount anything on the firewall. Dash wiring is a mess, so I've got to start from scratch.
2004 3500 Cummins
2002 Grand Caravan

Rolling_Thunder

I wrote up some a thread elsewhere before....     all manufacturers have come out with new products but its a good guideline

http://www.protouringmopar.com/showthread.php?555-Wiring-Thread-Advice-and-Info&highlight=wiring

I used painless in my 1968 - the poor reviews are because people usually expect a simple "GM" style installation ---  I only look at the fuse block and wiring - everything else is done by hand and innovation. Most people do not like the idea of having to plan out an entire wiring harness.

I like the painless system but I would go with micro-fuses to consolidate space.  :2thumbs: