News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

1975 Charger Keeps Dying

Started by Dawn1975, November 07, 2015, 01:15:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dawn1975

I am posting this for my brother as i know a bit more about cars than him and i was in the car during her "issue". I will start off by saying 2 things first:

1. I like to think that my grammar is pretty good but sometimes i do mess up, sorry if that happens.

2. I am a NOVICE mechanic, i am self-taught so i might not know exactly what you are talking about but i will try to figure it out on here or on google. I am still learning.

Now onto the issue.

We recently gave her a tune-up because she had what sounded to be a lifter tick (turned out to be a spark plug wire). We asked the guy at AutoZone for the best parts he could get us for her and we did everything he gave us including: plugs, plug wires, distributor cap & rotor, PCV valve, air filter, ignition coil, and oil and filter change. We had bought her a re-manufactured alternator a while before as we had her previous 1 tested and it was dead. After the tune-up she fired right up and ran great, then the next morning she was dead. We jumped her later on and she started up and ran for a couple of days (my brother takes her to work about 20 miles from our house). I rode home with him one day and that is when the problem started.

We went about 10 miles and when we got off the highway to drop off his co-worker things happened in this order:

1.Directionals died
2.Dash lights dimmed
3.Starting sputtering
4.Radio died (it is a somewhat newer aftermarket one)
5.Power steering cut-off
6.Literally a second before she died she lost power brakes
7.She died.
8.Hazards blinked really fast and the interior lights went to the beat of the hazards.