News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Classic Auto Air's factory A/C replacement system. Hey it works!

Started by b5blue, March 04, 2016, 07:21:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

b5blue

I just found Classic makes an A/C replacement kit for my 70's stock A/C system. Anyone used it yet? It saves all the hassle of blocking old A/C holes and adapts to all factory A/C vents. It also replaces the entire controller with a slick electronic unit. Don't know how I missed this as I've been drooling for A/C for several years, I gotta call them after work today.
 This link is to an install PDF:
 http://www.classicautoair.com/manuals/fakits/1-2066FA%20INSTALL%20INSTRUCTIONS.pdf

will

I have it in my 68. Be careful drilling that hole for the condensate drain. It doesn't really line up right with the template they give you. I did it over the summer, nice cold air. I never hooked up the lights for the controller yet, so i don't know what color they are. They give you the dash vent, you're gonna need a paint pen to chrome it, if that's what you want. The side vents are a little tricky, sometimes the hose pops off, zip-ties are your friend. I like it. Some people like to complain because the original system was so cold, but you'll be comfortable with this setup.

green69rt

Quote from: b5blue on March 04, 2016, 07:21:41 AM
  I just found Classic makes an A/C replacement kit for my 70's stock A/C system. Anyone used it yet? It saves all the hassle of blocking old A/C holes and adapts to all factory A/C vents. It also replaces the entire controller with a slick electronic unit. Don't know how I missed this as I've been drooling for A/C for several years, I gotta call them after work today.
  This link is to an install PDF: