News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Fitting up panels question?

Started by Bronzedodge, March 12, 2017, 09:09:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bronzedodge

I need some suggestions on technique.  Friend of mine has the back half of his Barracuda apart - quarters, tailight panel, wheelhouse, etc.  He's running self tapping sheetmetal screws as a temporary holders - he ends up with 5-6 holes in a section.  It seems like a lot.  He's a beginner, this is his first build.  I'm not over there enough to help often, so I'm not sure of his methods.  I know fitting up is the most time consuming part.  Anyone have a suggestion?
Mopar forever!

Troy

Only 5-6? ;)

I am also an amateur so keep that in mind! Depending on the panel and how much it liked to move/warp I may have put a screw every 8" or so (about every 4th spot weld in places like the trunk) and also on each side of a sharp corner where panels meet. I had a box of 100 screws and came close to running out a few times (did the trunk floors, drop downs, tail panel, lower quarter patches, inner and outer wheel house patches, and dutchman panel on my 70 Challenger). Filling them is super easy as you can just poke the wire into the hole and give it a 1/2 second blast. Now I have Clecos but you still end up with similar sized holes.

Troy
Sarcasm detector, that's a real good invention.

68 charger freak