News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

General question about HP of a stock 400 4bbl 73 charger

Started by rollo1504, March 15, 2017, 10:00:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rollo1504

Hey guys!

As some of you already noticed I am trying to get my new baby fired up for the first time (see stupid questions in other sections)....

I am questioning myself how much HP my baby actually would have.... as I am still a newbie to this business I would like to ask you guys how my HP my baby would have more or less with following setup as soon as everything works as it should (fuel pressure, carb adjusted, vacuum proper)

I have a 73 charger not tuned as far as I know

400 big block
4 bbl holley 4160 carb list number 1850-9 (Secondary Vacuum)
Weiland intake manifold
Standard mechanical fuel pump

I really don't know if the car has 100 HP or 300 HP or 150 HP?

Just interested in knowing it....

Thanks for your answers

Cheers

Roland

c00nhunterjoe

New, about 250 flywheel hp. Today, probably closer to 200 depending on the age and who has been inside it over the years. Depending o  your plans, the 400 block is a great candidate for a mild stroker. It has the largest stock bore of any chrysler.

flyinlow

A whopping 260 HP at 4600 rpm !  Net figure as used 1972 and after.  A buddy had a '72 with a 400 Magnum (40 years ago). We killed the EGR valve and bumped the timing up. It went something like 15.7 / 86 mph in the 1/4 mile.

Did decent burn outs on Kelly G60-15 Supercharger tires.  O.K. enough reliving my youth.

Do some tuning , add a good sounding exhaust and start driving. it won't be that fast ,but the "cool" factor of an older Charger is hard to beat.

rollo1504

Quote from: c00nhunterjoe on March 15, 2017, 11:27:21 AM