News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Engine oil filtering questions

Started by Bad B-rad, May 23, 2017, 01:04:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Bad B-rad

I am a heavy equipment mechanic, and on a lot of the different machines the manufacture has a"Clean up/out filter(s)".
That you use  after a part fails or the system get some type of contamination in it. You use it for only a small amount of time and under specific instructions (ie: run for no more then 3hrs and do not exceed 3200rpm, or 3600psi, what ever it may be) to remove anything bad from the oil,as so not to cause any damage.

Is there any type of filter like that for big block Mopars?
(or for any engine that just so happens to spin on to our engines)

I just found and cleaned out some "debris" in an oil passage to my head in a 383 engine.
So I want to know the best way remove any and all crap from the engine.
I can change the engine oil and filter, I am not worried about the price of oil, but I didn't know if  someone offered  a "clean up filter"  and maybe spin that on and use a drill to pump oil through the system and filter and catch anything before it causes any damage.
Or is my best bet to just drop the oil pan and clean that out with the oil pick up screen?
(I have already wiped the head rocker area and lifter valley for any large pieces, I just want to get it as clean as I can)
What is the best way to move forward?

For the equipment we have even used a Filter Caddy, and there were two styles that I know of, the one we used just sucked the oil out and sent it through a set of progressively smaller filters and then returned to the system. While this was being done it required someone to run the machine while the oil is being filtered to get the oil in and out of the entire system.