News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Electrical cut outs on 383?

Started by euroZ06, January 25, 2018, 06:46:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

euroZ06

Hi guys,

I have a mint 68 charger. Car was restored to concourse, but... I'm a driver, and I don't like garage queens. I drive it all the time. Currently it is all stock.. sometimes I really miss the roar of my old 68 with a built 440.

I figured a cool solution to keep the car in almost stock shape by adding electrical cut outs. Someone told me that 383's don't like them (cause of the reduced back pressure). Is that true? Is there any harm? I wouldn't be cruising on highway with them open, just rolling around town and a few sprints now and then.

Also, can't figure out which size cut outs I'd need, I measured the exhaust and it's 19cm in circumference, but that doesn't clearly decide into inches... which size should I get...
68 charger, 383, 727, 3.55

c00nhunterjoe

In my opinion, you need lots of compression and a HUGE cam to sound good uncapped. Here is my 11:1 383 with essentially a purple 509 cam which is considered too big by most.... and in my opinion sounds terrible uncapped

https://youtu.be/vQazmSsG4sU

c00nhunterjoe

Vs high compression and a monster superstock cam in my current engine... big difference in sound open header.

https://youtu.be/p6kcOMgYxzY

garner7555

It doesn't "need backpressure".   The ideal situation for performance would be to have a vacuum sucking the exhaust out.   In my opinion don't put any value in people's opinion if they tell you an engine needs back pressure.    :Twocents: