News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Looking for Nascar Charger 500 Pictures

Started by Oldtimer, February 14, 2018, 04:53:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Oldtimer

Please allow me to re-introduce myself and apologize for the time duration since my last visit, and any imposition this visit might cause.

I am a diecast collector and customizer, and have been involved in several custom Nascar Dodge Chargers.

My most favorite one is a replica of James Hylton's Charger Daytona from the 1969 Texas 500 at College Station, TX.

I met Wendell Scott when he came to Texas World Speedway and I worked as a pump jockey for Union 76 during the Nascar races held there.  In my avatar, that is me, dressed all in white, with my back to the camera.

It is a little known fact that Wendell Scott raced Mopar products a few times during his career, usually when his more likely Ford was down and out.

He drove a Plymouth Roadrunner in eleven races in 1970, entered by Don Robertson's Star City Body Shop.

I have been successful in creating a replica, in 1/18 scale, of that one.

At the Falstaff 400, held at Riverside on June 14, 1970; Scott borrowed a Charger 500 from local racer, George Wiltshire, and raced it.  I am trying to create a replica of this one, as well.

This is the only picture I have ever been able to find.

I am trying to find any information on the Charger 500 raced by George Wiltshire, in order to determine what the background color was, so that our replica can be as accurate as possible.  It would be especially extraordinary if we could find a color picture of the Charger as Scott raced it, in order to determine the colors of the door numbers.