News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

good project car/truck for father/son project

Started by lloyd3, March 04, 2018, 07:36:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lloyd3

It's something I've been pondering for several years and my boy is now finally getting old enough to consider it a bit more seriously. I certainly have my preferences but I was wondering what has worked well for you folks.  I have had good experiences with Ramblers, Mopar stuff (obviously), Ford trucks, even early Jeep stuff.  I'd prefer a straight six motor (or a slant) and probably American made, but I'm open to suggestions.

JB400

mid to late 80's Dodge truck.  Parts are available through LMC.  Drove one as my first drivable vehicle.  I would definitely recommend a truck.  He can haul a lawnmower if needed for extra cash.

Bad B-rad

I am in the same boat, and I wanted to get my son a Mopar car for us to do.(I am doing a 1969 Charger, and he can help,I would love that, but that is DAD,S car!!!!!)
I had found a 1973 Plymouth Road Runner, and I really liked the car, a 400/ 4 Speed , anyway, I think I liked the car more then my son!!!
So ultimately I passed, as It seamed I was way more into getting him the car then he was about getting that car.(Maybe 40 year old cars just aren't cool anymore??????)
I ended up getting him/ us a 1989 Jeep Wrangler.
I have had a few so I know them well, Its a 4.2, auto.(so there is your straight six)It has turned out to be a very good,choice, as he can drive it on the trails behind our house, and get used to operating it, they are very dependable, not to expensive  to  repair/ maintain.
And TONS of parts on the aftermarket to modify the vehicle for his/our likening.
Its still a Mopar, and it seams maybe a better choice then big block 4- speed for a first car for my son!!!!