News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

exhaust rattle

Started by skippychad, April 14, 2018, 07:29:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

skippychad

so I have heard a knocking rattle while at idle or when just barely giving the charger gas.  I thought it was the trans rattling but found it to be the exhaust pipes right under the driver and passenger floor boards...pipe comes in contact with undercarriage between the manifolds and the cross pipe of the exhaust...pretty much right where the trans mount bracket is.  the exhaust is only attached by the manifolds and the rear brackets.  Is there a easy fix for this?  Maybe manipulate the exhaust tubes with a hammer? Or do they make heat resistant bushings I can slide between the undercarriage and the exhaust pipes?  thanks

XH29N0G

I am not an expert on this, but I think the proper fix for this would not require some sort of spacer but depends on getting the proper geometry.

I do not thing there is a problem bending or having the exhaust pipes bent.  I have done that (bending pipes up using a jack, bending them in other directions using various pulley/come along apparatuses).  there are pipe benders, but I don't have any.  I would think a shop that does exhaust could also fix it.  You just don't want it hanging too low, and it might be that when installed, that was the aim, but got it too close.  It is at idle, so not something where the engine is moving because of faulty mounts. 

I have a few general questions. 

• Did this just start happening?  Or has it been there for as long as you can remember?
  • By any chance do you have an RB (440) and could you have drop pipes for a B (383 or 400)?

Who in their right mind would say

"The science should not stand in the way of this."?