News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Superbird vs Daytona Road Trip Part 1

Started by taxspeaker, April 30, 2018, 08:19:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

taxspeaker

Plymouth Superbird and Dodge Daytona-Road Trip Comparison
It seems like nowadays many wing car owners treat the cars as a museum piece for people to come see. Nothing wrong with that, but as a business owner I believe that you need to take the product to the people if you can, not make them come to you. These wing cars are the product, they just aren't for sale. You see, I believe we are a caretaker of a car which will live far beyond our lifetime in the history of America, and to keep that American history alive, people need to touch, see, hear and yes, feel the excitement by taking the product to them. So, I drive my wing cars, and yes, I know how lucky I am to even own one. So here are two short summaries of my examples of driving the cars.
In 2015 a bone stock 1970 Plymouth Superbird with about 40,000 miles went on an epic 5,000-mile road trip from Southern Indiana to Anchorage Alaska. I was the lucky owner and driver of the car. More about the car and the trip in a minute.
In 2018 the plan was to re-do the exact same trip with the same route, the same stops and the same solo driver, also in a bone stock 1969 Dodge Daytona with about 45,000 miles. After long consideration of the damage incurred by the Superbird, the cost to restore it, and my advancing age, the Alaska trip was vetoed and replaced with a 1,400-mile road trip from Southern Indiana to Moparfest at the Battleships in Mobile, Alabama over the April 29th,  2018 weekend. 

taxspeaker

Part 2

The 1970 Plymouth Superbird