News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Underhood Temperature

Started by comet_666, May 29, 2018, 10:00:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

comet_666

I am trying to do something about under hood temperatures. I was thinking about header wrap but I really don't want to remove the headers. Has anyone used one of those brush on or wipe on coatings for your stainless headers? If so did it reduce the temps under the hood?

https://www.summitracing.com/parts/zyc-11016?seid=srese1&cm_mmc=pla-google-_-shopping-_-srese1-_-zycoat-llc&gclid=EAIaIQobChMI-5X-m5ir2wIVQmSGCh0qLAzMEAYYASABEgI8FfD_BwE

RECHRGD

I have no knowledge of the product, but at that price, it better work.  No reviews though.  I would think that to do a decent job you should still take the headers off.  I would go ahead and get them professionally ceramic coated......
13.53 @ 105.32

HPP

I've never had a big block mopar that didn't have scorching hot underhood temps; car,truck, wagon, they all have been hot. Coolant temp has always been manageable, but the underhood air is stinking hot, headers or manifolds both.

I have tried a couple different do it yourself treatments. None wiped on, all needed sprayed and headers had to be off and sand or bead blasted, then wiped with acetone. Both did better than paint, but didn't last as long as professional thermal coatings and eventually failed.

Kern Dog

I would bet that a car with manifolds would radiate more heat than one with headers. Headers don't store/retain the heat as long.

comet_666

The car runs rock solid at 180, but after it sits off for about 10-20 min or so it's hard to start. By hard to start I mean I have to hold gas pedal down and try to keep it running for around a min or so then I can go. I figure if I can lower under hood temps it will help?

justcruisin