News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Sheet metal question - Galvanized?

Started by 69fourspd, May 02, 2006, 12:47:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

69fourspd

I need a little bit of sheet metal for my 69 charger, and would prefer to use a new straight piece instead of going to the junk yard to cut up a section of an old junker.  I have read 18 gauge, but haven't seen much about a new galvanized panel.  Here is a link to Eastwoods site.  http://www.eastwoodco.com/shopping/product/detailmain.jsp?itemType=PRODUCT&RS=1&itemID=10438&keyword=metal+repair+panels

Would the galvanized work out well?  Newer cars have galvanized parts right?  will this be a problem welding in? Any thoughts would be helpful. 

Thanks!

Todd Wilson

I am not a professional body guy but I would say no to the galvanzied.   2 reason................. #1  welding galvanized is dangerous. The coating will produce a toxic gas when burnt during the welding process. You breath it in and get sick.  I also wonder how well primers and paints would stick to galvanized metal. Would paint companies guarantee their products on the Galv. sheet metal.   Maybe one of the pro's here can fill us in more on this end of it.

Todd

69fourspd

Todd - Thanks for the reply and I agree with both.  I wondered the same thing about the paint adhesion and I also read sharpspikes post about the health risks.  http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,2929.0.html

I do like the fact that this board looks out for the members and not just their cars!

Shakey

Quote from: Todd Wilson on May 02, 2006, 12:51:16 AM