News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

How hot is too hot?

Started by 69BlackChargerRT, May 06, 2006, 08:47:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

69BlackChargerRT

I was wondering how hot is too hot for the engine temp?  I am running a stroker 468 ( 555hp, 565 torque dyno) and have a 24" Be Cool radiator with dual electric fans in my 1969 Charger R/T.  I have a 195 degree thermostat but am getting readings of 200-215 degrees on my temp gauge.  This is still within the "safe" area as indicated on the gauge, but sometimes it spikes to the 230 degree range which is at the end of the "safe" range.  I am only driving on cool days ( no higher than 80 degrees F).  I had my gauges rebuilt but don't really know how accurate they might be now.  If they are accurate, is this too hot for this type of motor or is it normal?  Is there a way to check the temp by bypassing my temp gauge?  Would it be wise to get a lower temp thermostat?

Thanks in advance for your help!

RECHRGD

Your running Too hot for my taste!  I like the 180-190 range and seem to lose power above that.  I run a 180 degree high flow stat and a miloden high volume pump with an aluminum radiator, aux, electric fan (only kicks on in traffic on a hot day) and a clutch type fan on the engine side w/ no shroud.  Your making more hp than me but you should still be able to bring the temp. down.   Bob
13.53 @ 105.32

Plumcrazy

Quote from: 69BlackChargerRT on May 06, 2006, 08:47:31 AM
Would it be wise to get a lower temp thermostat?

Thanks in advance for your help!

I would put a 180* in it and see what happens.

It's not a midlife crisis, it's my second adolescence.

69BlackChargerRT

Will do and thanks for the advice.  I will let you all know the results!

phat69charger