DodgeCharger.com Forum
November 21, 2019, 08:03:07 AM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Please remember: this is the place to discuss Chargers - NOT the place to discuss politics. Political posts will be locked or deleted at the Moderator's discretion.
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register Chat  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: A/C component interchange  (Read 673 times)
spoolinhard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« on: November 25, 2018, 07:56:35 PM »

I have a 69 with a big block, factory A/C car. Everything A/C under the hood is gone. What years will interchange?
Logged
Bronzedodge
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 731


Triple Tan. T3 T3 C6T


« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2018, 05:03:26 AM »

The suction line routing changed drastically between 68 and 69, compressor brackets slightly also.   If you get all 68 stuff, it will work, just look like a 68 setup. 69 to 70 is more similar.  If you need a compressor, just go aftermarket w a rotary compressor, less HP to run.  If you want original look, that's a bit tougher - donor cars are hard to find intact.

https://www.classicautoair.com/mopar_air_conditioning_mopar_ac/
Logged

Mopar forever!
Gold Rush
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 108



« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2018, 05:48:45 AM »

Since your car was original a/c car, Classic Auto Air makes an upgrade kit that replaces everything forward of the firewall.  I found that ordering through Classic Industries got the kit to my front door $80 less than direct from Classic Auto Air (shipping and tax was the difference).  You might even get in on a Holiday discount.     cheers

  here their link..   https://www.classicindustries.com/shop/all-years/dodge/charger/parts/?q=ac%20upgrade%20kit
Logged

24 years USAF, 25 years consumer electronics repair technician.  Now I ride a Honda Goldwing trike and wrench my latest project.  Children and Grandchildren are gown so I have to find other places to spend my time and money!
Just 6T9 CHGR
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13,425


AKA... "The Game Changer"


« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2018, 07:28:41 PM »

69 suction & discharge hoses are 1 year only for 383-440 and are made of unobtanium.

Rear compressor bracket as well as the "legs" that mount to the intake are different between 383 & 440...  front main bracket is the same

Good luck!

Logged

Chris' '69 Charger R/T

spoolinhard
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 307


« Reply #4 on: November 29, 2018, 09:21:40 AM »

Thanks for the info cheers
Logged
ODZKing
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3,366



« Reply #5 on: November 29, 2018, 10:01:16 AM »

I had same situation with my 73. Factory A/C car, nothing under the hood. I ordered the Classic Auto Air setup and frankly would not recommend it.
While it works fine when it works, it freezes up constantly. The whole point of the air was for long trips ... Ha!
I don't know much about A/C but I am told the factory set up has the thermostat included in the system. CAA's is separate and doesn't work, not one of them and I've tried numerous ones. I constantly have to cycle the system of manually if I want it to not freeze.
Solution: I am going back to the original set up as soon as I get the $$ to get the last hose I have located. I do have the original compressor so a simple retrofit will do the trick.
Just my  Twocents
Logged
Bronzedodge
Senior Member
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 731


Triple Tan. T3 T3 C6T


« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2018, 03:05:13 PM »

Not to hijack the thread, but

ODZKing, if you'r experiencing evaporator freeze up, it may be just low charge or a metering device problem.  I'd have the system gone over by an HVAC professional with an automotive backround.  Problems like yours often get into the finer points of a system.   Twocents
Logged

Mopar forever!
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.044 seconds with 16 queries.