News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

'68 charger as a base for a daytona, possible?

Started by eberhama, May 09, 2006, 10:56:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

eberhama

I'm new to the world of mopar, so please be gentle. I recently found a '68 charger hull in a local junkyard for a good price, and am planning to purchase it. While '68 is not my year of choice, this looks like my only chance for a charger at a cheap price. I'm aware of the tail lights, side markers, and tail panel being diffrent, but is there something I'm missing that would be a major stumbling block on the road to a daytona recreation? I've searched the board, and see '69s and '70s used, but no '68s. Is it just the tail light panel thing? Is swapping to a '69 tailpanel allot more work then it would seem? I'd also like to know if the front clip would work for a starting point, or would I need to track down a later one for the swap? Any guidance would be appreciated.

TIA, Matt

Blown70

Yes, you can use it, you should swich the side markers, tail pannel.  Also, 68 doors have the lock in a different place on top of the door.

The basic body is about the same.

Tom

daytonalo

YOU NEED A 70 FRONT CLIP , 69 OR 70 QTR'S FOR CORRECT SIDE MARKER AND YOU NEED AN ENTIRE TAIL PANEL FROM A 69 OR 70 DONOR CAR . I'M JUST FINISHING MY HEMI DAYTONA CLONE . I STARTED WITH A 70 , WORD OF ADVICE START WITH A 69 OR 70 , YOU CAN BUY THEM AS A BASKET CASE ALL DAY LONG FOR AROUND 5K .  LARRY

Blown70

I should have stated that too.  I agree if you can find reasonalbe 69 or 70 would be better.

Tom

eberhama