News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Question on Daytona Master Cylinders, Hope Original Owner Can respond

Started by Dragon Slayer, April 10, 2019, 07:32:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dragon Slayer

I am not a complete expert on B body Brakes, but I have studied them in depth as a project.  And do believe I have pretty good knowledge of what is right and wrong.  I do believe the consensus is that assembly line Bendix Power Disc brake assemblies where painted Black.  Yet on many of the cars seen for sale, especially wing cars, they are not painted.  Or, the MC is painted but lid is left as Chromate or Zinc coated.  (From Historical post I found that Judges at one point deducted for painted lids; so maybe that drove the error.  It is true an over the counter part would not be painted.)

What I know is that for Mopar B body in the 67-70 time frame the lids where Chromate coated and painted for assembly line.  Later over counter lids might be zinc coated, and the Ford Mustang part (which is similar) came Chromate first, then later production zinc coated.  There is also subtle changes in where the lid vents are versus year.

The other thing I am really interest in is the date coding on the side.  Some time late 69 possibly for the 70 models, date code info started to be stamped on MC side.  BUT, anything before that had a tag about 1/2" by 7/8" with a 4 number stamp.  I have an original dated 9111.

I have only seen one highend restoration of a car that had the tag on the MC.  It would be hung off the bail.  Easy to be damaged or lost as it was thin aluminum.

So are there any original owners of Daytona with Disc brakes that have the bail tag?  I am interested in the detailed marking on the side if any, and bail tag.  Thanks,

hemi68charger