News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Matching Ignition Components for Rev N Ator

Started by Ghoste, May 16, 2019, 09:22:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ghoste

I picked up a Revenator ecu over the winter and I was going to use it with an MSD Blaster II coil and Firecore distributor.  Revenator advises their box should only be used with their coil and ballast and Firecore advises their distributor should only be used with their coil.  Just marketing by them all?

justcruisin

I have been using the rev-n-ator along with a blaster II for 5 years, no problems, infact, before they had there own brand coil they recommended the blaster II (with ballast). Not sure if they have changed their box internals but I doubt it. Only thing with distributors, the rev-n-nator wont work with a pick up gap that is too wide, pretty easy to close it up though. From memory they need 0.010-0.012".

Ghoste

firefighter3931

Hi Ghoste,

The FireCore RTR with built-in ECU requires a CD (capacitive discharge) coil but the electronic conversion distributor can be used with whatever style coil matches your external ECU (Mopar/MSD/Revnator etc...)

MSD makes an epoxy filled cylinder style coil that can be mounted horizontally. As long as that is compatible you're good to go.

The FireCore oil filled (Cylinder style) coil is hotter and provides a stronger spark for better efficiency....and the revnator recommended coil is likely similar. Justcruisin has been using A Blaster 2 for several years so that seems like a good match. I'm curious what ohm rated ballist he's using with that combination of parts  :scratchchin:   

Ron

68 Charger R/T "Black Pig" Street/Strip bruiser, 70 Charger R/T 440-6bbl Cruiser. Firecore ignition  authorized dealer ; contact me with your needs

Ghoste