News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Differences between the XH and XP 1970 Chargers

Started by Kern Dog, October 11, 2019, 09:43:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kern Dog

Hey guys...
A few months ago I bought a wrecked '70 Charger from a friend. It had been sitting since 1998 in his backyard and maybe a few years more before he bought it. It needs another RH frame rail and apron, a new core support and K member. I have all the stuff here to fix it but the point of this thread is to shed light on the differences between the XH and the XP models.
The 1970 Charger lineup consisted of 3 models.
Base models were the XH.
Mid level models were XP.
R/T models were the XS.
I am no expert so I will list what I know and hopefully, other members will chime in with their input.

Kern Dog

To my knowledge, the XH models all had bench seats, column shift, had no clock or tach and also lacked upper door pads.
First up, my XP 500.

Kern Dog

This XH of mine has no pads, similar to a Belvedere.

Kern Dog

Right door.

Kern Dog

Again, bench seat, column shift.

Kern Dog

No tach, not even a clock.

Kern Dog

My XP 500 has the aluminum taillight panel trim as do all R/Ts. It also has reflectors in the lenses.
The XH has no trim panel and the lenses are different, they have a silver outline inset.

Kern Dog

The XH of mine came with it's original 383 2 barrel, the top engine for the model from what I understand. It had A/C, Power steering but aside from that, I don't know. No fender tag came with it and the broadcast sheet was too far gone to read.
My XP 500 (R/T fake) came with a 318 but a 383 2 barrel was the only big block option available. Not even a 383 4 barrel was offered in the 1970 Charger models.
Feel free to add any info that I have not already mentioned.

Kern Dog