News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Grille frame restoration questions?

Started by rikubot, November 08, 2019, 12:50:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rikubot

Hi all. Couple quick questions:

What paint/primer do you suggest for the grille frame?

Does anyone have any pictures of the process they'd like to share?

Thanks,
Mike
'69 Charger, 440/727

Houston-Toe-Cutter

Dude ive been working on mines for lil over 3 years off and on rebuilt it , fixed cracks you name it and i just got back online. Its been a while since ive last been on here i had to resend my password. Ive gone to model car websites and gained a lotta info as far as painting plastic and man my grille looks nice.  Im getting ready to start posting as much as i can remember  about all the steps i took. Tons of pix. But i didnt know what section to post it in so i did a search and you popped up so imma go where you posted your question. But for primer actually it was clear!!! I bought it at Hi lo ori . Its called  Klean Strip , Bulldog Adhesion Promoter. Works perfect for plastics so you paint stays on. My bad you asked about grille support , i used krylon mate black home depot. I hat to replace mines also.
The light that burns twice as bright burns half as long

rikubot

That's good to know. I'm nervous about doing the plastic portion so I'm just working on the frame for now. What finish did the factory use for the frame? I'm going to probably go with a paint that needs a hardener just to make the finish a little more durable. I plan to get some stripping and sanding done on it tonight. It's cold here so I don't won't be able prime or paint for a while.
'69 Charger, 440/727

birdsandbees