News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

3D Printed Fender Tags

Started by Dano 1, November 13, 2019, 04:43:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dano 1

I've got my flame-suit at the ready for this one but figured it was worth bringing up for discussion...I've heard enough stories of fender tags being stolen at car shows etc. to be concerned about displaying my car with its mint condition original tag. I'm an engineer using CAD software/3D printing on a daily basis and try to find as many unique applications for the technology as possible working on my cars. My fender tag solution was to create a 3D CAD model of my tag and 3D print it for display purposes; it should look good enough to the average person or mopar enthusiast who likes to check out options at a show but not be worthwhile to steal. I was trying to walk the tightrope of not trying to pass this off as the real-deal while making it look good enough for display.

3D Model:

Printed tag ready for paint:

My initial thought was to open this up to other people who wanted an inexpensive display-only fender tag that they didn't have to worry about being stolen, but still looked reasonably accurate for show purposes. Is this opening a massive can of worms that should be left alone? I really don't want to have any association with anyone even attempting to fraudulently represent a car but to me these tags aren't close enough to pass as the real deal, they're not even made of metal.

*flame-suit on* Anyone have thoughts?  :popcrn:
1969 Charger 383 2bbl, R4 red, White hat special project

Check out my website for 3D printed restoration parts and accessories.
www.nextgendesignsnc.com

Troy

It's definitely not going to fool anyone... ;)