News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

New Amsoil or PennGrade1?

Started by Captain D, March 06, 2020, 02:56:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Captain D

Just curious to see if I could get some opinions on the info below, if I may ask please:

In your opinion, would you recommend the Amsoil Z-Rod *FULL* synthetic oil (10W-30 or 20W-50) or the synthetic *BLEND* 10W-40 from PennGrade1 (both have that much needed zinc / phosphorous additives + winter storage bonding capabilities)?

https://www.amsoil.com/newsstand/classic-and-vintage/articles/z-rod-keeps-vehicles-street-ready/

Just curious if the full synthetic or the blend would be better for my 69' Charger 383, here in southern Pennsylvania. I've been running the PennGrade1 (AKA Brad Penn) for the past several years, so I didn't know if I 'could' switch or would it be best if I simply keep on w/ the PennGrade1 altogether. Thank you for your time and any info...

Challenger340

I don't use nor recommend any synthetics whatsoever in these old Engines.... NOT because synthetics are great Oils... they are !
but very simply....
because from our experience anyways... the Synthetics extremely high viscosity would seem to promote oil leaks ?
To explain further, and again here you do as you see fit... because this is just a caution and yours may be just fine.... but we've seen where even the slightest "weep" of a gasket in older generation engines/gasket Tech very quickly becomes a full blown Oil leak when Synthetic Oils are introduced ?

And remember.... these Old Engines used much Older Gasket Technology than any of these newer engines designed with far better gasket technology ?

Again, just a word of caution, yours may be just FINE ?
But if you develop a full blown oil leak after switching to Synthetic Oil ? you may know why...