News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

1968 Charger RT 440 Initial and mechanical timing help

Started by garthed, August 28, 2022, 06:01:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

garthed

Hi everyone,

I have a 68 Charger with a 440 that was rebuilt about 20 years ago. I have been chasing down a pinging and or detonation issue forever. I don't have the specs on the motor as a mechanic I had working on it lost the build sheet on the motor long ago.

Motor probably only has about 10k miles on it.
440 Rebuilt
Auto
Edelbrock carb
Was told it has 11:1 compression
Large cam but do not know the spec
Roller rockers/ hydraulic lifters
Hooker Comp headers
Electronic ignition with the orange box/ not sure of brand of distributor but looks like the standard distributor kit you get at summit.
Not running any vacuum advance.

Ok for the issue

Between 1800ish to 2700ish rpm I get pinging under load some times at full throttle other times at just half or less. Above 3000 I either don't hear it or its not happening.

Initial timing is set around 20-23 at about 900 rpm using a vacuum gauge. Set to highest vacuum and then back it down just a bit. 

Total timing seems to come in early at around 1800 rpm and its around 35.

Running 100 octane (at $9.99 a gallon ouch) I've tried octane booster and 91 but the pinging is really bad then.

If I'm just cruising around under 2k its ok or if I accelerate past lets say 2500 slowly it fine.

I'm wondering is the total/mechanical timing to much and if so how do I fix this? Or is the total timing coming on to soon causing it to ping early, and if so how do I fix that? With springs, if so what springs should I buy.

Also someone told me that I should try colder spark plugs to fix pinging.  Not sure what plugs I'm currently running.