News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

How does one paint car with panels off?

Started by 375instroke, June 23, 2006, 10:17:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

375instroke

When people paint Mopars with the body panels off the car, how do they put the car back together?  What about panel alignment?  Do they get everything together without chipping anything?  What about the fender bolts in the engine compartment and the door hinge bolts?  Do they paint the car again after it's together to get paint on those areas?  Is body work done on the panels on the car and then removed for paint, or are they sanded off the car also?

Drop Top

As many people here on this board already know. I restore cars for a living. I do it the way you are describing. Its a very long process to do a car this way. As for your questions. Before you start you want to aline all gaps first. Then mark them and take notes. Like how many shims in a certain area. Drill very small holes for alinement in areas that will never be noticed. When doing body work you may have to fit that fender or door, ect. on and off 10 or more times before you get it perfict. Do any and all panel replacing before fitting all your gaps. I do all my blocking with the body apart also. When it comes time to paint. It depends on what your shooting. Is it a factory color or a candy or maybe a pearl job. There are many differant tricks for painting a car apart. I wont go into that because it would take to long to explane all of them. Besides I give away too many of my little tricks as it is. After you have the car and parts painted and buffed. You cover all the edges with masking tape and be very careful when you attach them to the car. It takes at least 2 people to do this. To answer your question about how you get the bolts painted after