News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Bondo Questions:

Started by Captain D, June 18, 2008, 12:18:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Captain D

Hi guys,

I'm a newbie here, so please bear w/ me. As I am sanding the body of my Charger down as close to the metal as I possibly can, there are some scratches that sanding just can't get out. A friend of mine suggested simply applying bondo to those areas and sanding them down. After all, everything, including the lightly bondo areas, will all be treated with a rust sealer and primer-ed.

That seems better (and cheaper) than purchasing whole new fenders, especially if they're only small blemishes/scratches. No big deal. But, I don't know a lot about bondo in general. Can you guys help answer some general questions that I have:

1.) how durable is bondo? I mean, how long does it last?
2.) does it ever become brittle?
3.) if I have some on my car, do I ever have to worry about it becoming loose once it's professionally painted (due to bumps and jolts while regular driving)?
4.) did they use much bondo on these cars 40 years ago? (reason why I ask is because someone told me that all cars have bondo on them. At the factory, they apply a layer of bondo before it gets painted - just curious to ask if they used bondo back then and how much).