DodgeCharger.com Forum
November 28, 2022, 04:13:48 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Please remember: this is the place to discuss Chargers - NOT the place to discuss politics. Political posts will be locked or deleted at the Moderator's discretion.
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register Chat  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Gas Gage no workie...MOST likely culprit  (Read 1964 times)
moparsuebear
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


Live...laugh....love.... and drive a Mopar!


« on: July 17, 2008, 09:12:44 PM »

Gage in '72 no workie...on power up it moves like 1/64 of an inch and no farther
- New sender
- Tried various grounds "good" at sender...no change
- Visable wires look OK

Any sugestions on which way to go? One thread I read said to ground the wire going to the sender to check dash gage...is that right?

AKcharger (too lazy to change profile)
Logged

Go Bears!!
y3chargerrt
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,047



« Reply #1 on: July 18, 2008, 04:27:19 AM »

Short the sending wire out then watch the gauge as you key on the car. It will go full scale if the wiring and gauge is good. Only keep it keyed on long enough to see the gauge go to full scale.
Logged
Nacho-RT74
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 19,524


Tired of everything


« Reply #2 on: July 18, 2008, 02:07:19 PM »

iagree

first on gas tank plug... if not change, underneath trunk matt plug, if not change, kick panel plug, if not change, directly to gauge...all of those are a blue wire.

aslo check for GOOD POSITIVE on gauge... is a black wire coming from voltage limiter... clean contacts.
Logged

Venezuelan RT 74 400 4bbl, 727, 8.75 3.23 open. Now stroked with 440 crank and 3.55 SG. Here is the History and how is actually: http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,7603.0/all.html
http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,25060.0.html
Chryco Psycho
Global Moderator
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 5,763


www.panamaroadrunner.com


WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2008, 12:53:36 AM »

 after grounding the sender assuming it checks good check the groundstrap , it clips onto the fuel line near the tank , if the ground is bad that will be the problem
Logged
AKcharger
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,996



« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2008, 02:18:06 AM »

Sorry for the delay on this...I was working on the headlights  Grin anyway, I got under there tonight and was able to ground out the wire to the exhaust pipe and it moved over towards full scale...so looks like gage and wires good. But when I went to the same ground (exhaust pipe) to the fuel line or the housing there was no movment on the gage...just sat there. Can anyone think of anything else to try before I go for the sender...I hate to think I got a bad one all this time  eek
Logged

Nacho-RT74
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 19,524


Tired of everything


« Reply #5 on: August 03, 2008, 09:18:45 PM »

another ground source diff than exhaust pipe ? shruggy
Logged

Venezuelan RT 74 400 4bbl, 727, 8.75 3.23 open. Now stroked with 440 crank and 3.55 SG. Here is the History and how is actually: http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,7603.0/all.html
http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,25060.0.html
AKcharger
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,996



« Reply #6 on: August 03, 2008, 09:56:19 PM »

Perhap but I thought since the pipe was good to ground the lead it should have been good for the unit.??
Logged

Nacho-RT74
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 19,524


Tired of everything


« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2008, 11:48:08 AM »

should it be, but never knows....

is the sender with wire or with strap between internal rheostat and external stud ?. Honestly I don't trust on those wires... straps for me!!!!
Logged

Venezuelan RT 74 400 4bbl, 727, 8.75 3.23 open. Now stroked with 440 crank and 3.55 SG. Here is the History and how is actually: http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,7603.0/all.html
http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,25060.0.html
AKcharger
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,996



« Reply #8 on: October 11, 2008, 03:08:22 PM »

Finally got around to getting a new sender...works great!

Wierd what happens when you get new parts!
Logged

440fan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #9 on: October 12, 2008, 07:44:34 AM »

Finally got around to getting a new sender...works great!

Wierd what happens when you get new parts!

Did you have to drop your tank to change the sender? I have a full tank of gas and was wondering if I can get the sender out of the 69 Dodge Coronet R/T without dropping my tank.
Logged
Charger-Bodie
Global Moderator
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 9,981



« Reply #10 on: October 12, 2008, 07:51:02 AM »

Finally got around to getting a new sender...works great!

Wierd what happens when you get new parts!

Did you have to drop your tank to change the sender? I have a full tank of gas and was wondering if I can get the sender out of the 69 Dodge Coronet R/T without dropping my tank.


 You dont need to drop the tank, but you dont want it full or you will spill alot of gas.
Logged

68 Charger R/t white with black v/t and red tailstripe. 440 4 speed ,black interior
68 383 auto with a/c and power windows. Now 440 4 speed jj1 gold black interior .
My Charger is a hybrid car, it burns gas and rubber............
440fan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #11 on: October 12, 2008, 08:53:00 AM »

Finally got around to getting a new sender...works great!

Wierd what happens when you get new parts!

Did you have to drop your tank to change the sender? I have a full tank of gas and was wondering if I can get the sender out of the 69 Dodge Coronet R/T without dropping my tank.


 You dont need to drop the tank, but you dont want it full or you will spill alot of gas.

How would you do it without dropping the tank? What are the steps? Thanks.
Logged
moparsuebear
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 113


Live...laugh....love.... and drive a Mopar!


« Reply #12 on: October 12, 2008, 12:09:07 PM »

Yes, the tank nees to be at least lowered in the front unless you have single exhaust, on mine the exhaust pipe sits right next to the sender. it come out about 2 inches and is blocked. I'm sure you could get the old one out by mangleing it but no way is the new one going in.
Logged

Go Bears!!
acelondon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Posts: 211


« Reply #13 on: October 19, 2008, 08:53:17 AM »

Mine goes in and out depending on how hard i kicked the trim plate under my e-brake pedal. Classic Dodge wiring here. The connector is slightly corroded. Too lazy to fix it, considering how little road the car sees.
Logged
AKcharger
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,996



« Reply #14 on: October 26, 2008, 10:27:28 PM »

Sounds like a simple fix of unplugging that wafer connector and hitting the contacts with a brush

...Oh also my float was cracked and filled with gas
Logged

440fan
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 84


« Reply #15 on: October 27, 2008, 07:57:27 AM »

Sounds like a simple fix of unplugging that wafer connector and hitting the contacts with a brush

...Oh also my float was cracked and filled with gas

I my ground wire was loose. Now it works.
Logged
AKcharger
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 4,996



« Reply #16 on: October 27, 2008, 02:29:24 PM »

 :2thumbs:Cool!
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.075 seconds with 17 queries.