News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Newbie here! Problems with gas and temp gauge, HELP!

Started by ChargerandVette, May 17, 2009, 07:41:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ChargerandVette

Hello all!  This is my first time posting on this forum.  I am glad to be here.  I see that there is a lot of valuable Charger information here.

I am working on a 69 Dodge Charger R/T with a 440 Maganum.  Here's the problem, when the ignition is turned on, the fuel gauge needle moves all the way to FULL then it pulsates between FULL and HALF a tank and the temp. gauge needle pegs to it's highest reading.

I replaced the original voltage regulator with recommended electronic one.  I also replaced the fuel gauge with a reproduction one just for my model and year car from Ye*rone.com.  The circuit board has continuity where it should and the rest of the gauges work fine.  All the gauges were working fine up until a month ago.  That's when I changed the ignition system from points to electronic if that has anything to do with it.

The electronic voltage regulator seems to put out more than 5 volts!?  My digital test meter shows that the voltage gets up to 7 point something volts then it fluctuates down to much lower voltage readings.  The source voltage is 12 volts and the circuit board is well grounded.  If I unplug the sending unit wire, the fuel gauge won't do anything.  At the gas tank, if I unhook the sending unit wire and connect it to ground, the needle pulsates between 1/2 and a full tank again.

Does anybody have any ideas as to what could be causing this?  I've been trying to solve this problem for 3 weeks now!  Thanks for reading this and thanks for your answers guys.  I have no idea what to try next! :popcrn:

mikepmcs