News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

Need Help! Engine Question

Started by oldschool_muscle, December 05, 2005, 10:18:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

oldschool_muscle

I just bought a new intake manifold. It is a Weiand brand G Team manifold that is supposed to be able to fit a 400 ci engine. I have a 400 magnum  in a 73' charger but i dont know if there is a difference. When i attempted to put to put it on not only did the bolts not screw in flush but there were 2 holes on the left center and right center showing on the outside of the manifold. Can anybody help me out. This is my first project and im learning as im going so any help i can get is nice.

- Tim
- Tim
1973 Charger

Bandit72

not trying to be mean, but did you put it on backwards  ???   thats the only thing i can think of, a 440 manifold is different i know ,but they don't even come close to matching up...
Daddy ran whiskey in a big black dodge
bought it at an auction at the masons lodge,
Johnson County Sherriff painted on the side,
just shot a coat of primer then he looked inside,
well him and my uncle tore that engine down,
I still remember that rumblin' sound.....

oldschool_muscle

Im not a mechanic but im sure i didnt put it in backwards.
- Tim
1973 Charger

Bandit72

hmm, thats  honestly the first time i've heard of this, of course i'm only 18 so i guess thats not so unbeleivable....   :-\

oldschool_muscle

Im only 17 so im right there with you.
- Tim
1973 Charger

694spdRT

Here is what I can think off hand since there is no picture of the mis-alignment, you did not say how far the bolts are off, and I don't know what experience you have.

1) The heads have been milled enough that the bolt holes are not lining up and you will need to have the manifold milled accordingly.