DodgeCharger.com Forum
October 04, 2022, 06:01:51 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Please remember: this is the place to discuss Chargers - NOT the place to discuss politics. Political posts will be locked or deleted at the Moderator's discretion.
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register Chat  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Tach wiring to fuse box for keyed source, is it possible?  (Read 1292 times)
greenpigs
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3,495


Alyson Hannigan


« on: August 16, 2010, 03:19:04 AM »

   I don't want to splice into my feed for the ignition switch, my old harness was a cluster of half assed splices. I did a search here and on Moparts and found you can use the fuse box, but I am not sure what part. So does anyone know what I can use and is willing to share? shruggy
Logged

1969 Charger RT
2010 Jeep Wrangler

Living Chevy free
mikepmcs
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 7,718


Maine " THE ROAD TO NOWHERE LEADS TO ME "


WWW
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2010, 05:10:56 AM »

how about instead of splicing into the new harness you just tap into it with a jump connector. 
is your fuse box the original old one?  if so, I can't see where you could do it without it looking unclean.
I would just find your 12v ignition source and use one of these. Twocents


* blueinstanttapzr0.jpg (34.73 KB, 601x456 - viewed 290 times.)
Logged

Life isn't Father Knows Best anymore, it's a kick in the face on a saturday night with a steel toed grip kodiak work boot and a trip to the hospital all bloodied and bashed.....for reconstructive surgery. But, what doesn't kill us, makes us stronger, right?
Just 6T9 CHGR
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 13,607


AKA... "The Game Changer"


« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2010, 06:54:22 AM »

Use the radio fuse & get some glass fuse taps....

Logged

Chris' '69 Charger R/T

greenpigs
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 3,495


Alyson Hannigan


« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2010, 07:40:21 AM »

 2thumbs I didn't know about those and hopefully others pick up on this cool "trick" item.
Since I do not use a radio would running a 3 amp fuse like the manufacture recommends for the Tach be a good idea instead of what the radio is rated at?
Logged

1969 Charger RT
2010 Jeep Wrangler

Living Chevy free
tan top
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 32,466


69 - R/T SE - Y2-CRX-V1T-V88


« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2010, 07:43:52 AM »

there is a piggyback spade conectors for accesorys  at the back of the 69 fuse box ,  forget now which one i connected it to  ,  will have a look later  yesnod , think i just followed the FSM  scratchchin
Logged

Feel free to post any relevant picture you think we all might to see in below threads !

Charger Stuff 
  http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,86777.0.html
Chargers in the background where you least expect them 
  http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,97261.0.html
C500 & Daytonas & Superbirds
  http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,95432.0.html
Interesting pictures & Stuff 
  http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,109484.0.html
Old Dodge dealer photos wanted
 http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,120850.0.html
Nacho-RT74
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 19,513


Tired of everything


« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2010, 10:30:17 PM »

3rd gens have an acc source on harness which is in fact the source for the tach!... dunno if earliers too
Logged

Venezuelan RT 74 400 4bbl, 727, 8.75 3.23 open. Now stroked with 440 crank and 3.55 SG. Here is the History and how is actually: http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,7603.0/all.html
http://www.dodgecharger.com/forum/index.php/topic,25060.0.html
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.067 seconds with 18 queries.