DodgeCharger.com Forum
September 26, 2022, 04:44:04 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: DodgeCharger.com decals are available here!
 
   Home   Help Calendar Login Register Chat  
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: Instrument voltage regulator?  (Read 12951 times)
flyboyedwards
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 87



« on: July 05, 2011, 06:07:36 PM »

I have a ralleye cluster that I am ready to reinstall, and was wondering if anyone has used this guys part?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Dodge-Solid-State-Voltage-limiter-your-gauges-_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQ_trkparmsZalgoQ3dLVIQ26ituQ3dUCIQ26otnQ3d4Q26poQ3dLVIQ26psQ3d63Q26clkidQ3d1138319182292774998QQ_trksidZp5197Q2em7QQitemZ280572903071

I really don't want one to burn out, and kill my gauges! Thanks for the help!!
Jason.
Logged
Cooter
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 8,028


"So What? So Let's DANCE"


« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2011, 08:05:07 PM »

Haven't used this persons but.....
I converted my own using the Radio Shack 5 Volt Regualtor, which is what this person evidently used.. Works really well. Gauges read alot more steady..Notice I said STEADY, not more acurate...

No matter what you do, the stock gauges will be "Good" at best..
Logged

" I have spent thousands of dollars and countless hours researching what works and what doesn't and I'm willing to share"
A383Wing
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,120


Old, Lost & Confuzed


« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2011, 08:23:48 PM »

I ain't used that one either....but he was on our forum talking about it...

I built my own from a 5v regulator from electronics parts house as well...converted all my cars over to electronic style....below is what I did with mine...there is a capacitor inside the housing for voltage spikes, and the OE limiter housing acts as a heat sink.....I had to remove the OE limiter from inside the fuel gauges on both my 66's

total cost for the ones I built was less than $10 plus about 45 minutes of my time


* limiter1completed.jpg (47.68 KB, 422x472 - viewed 5463 times.)
Logged
W4ATL
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 192



WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2011, 09:18:52 AM »

The 5 volt regulator will work well and is simple to put together. Their are two drawbacks if you roll your own this way:

1. The regulator will get hot so you need to make sure it is well bonded to the metal casing to act as a heat sink. Some heat sink compound will help the heat transfer.
2. The original regulator will actually go above 5 volts for a short while to get the gauges to read quicker. With the 5 volt regulator the gauges will come up more slowly as the elements warm up. Their is a regulator made by RTE that uses switching technology (instead of linear like the 5V voltage regulator) that keeps it cool and it has some smarts to make the gauges react faster on startup that will mimic the original. It is pricey.

I installed the RTE regulator and have been pleased with it.
Logged
flyboyedwards
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 87



« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2011, 04:16:27 PM »

Thanks for the help guys!   cheers 
2 questions.......... 1st, where do I find the RTE regulator?
2nd, how is the capacitor, that you installed wired?
 popcrn
Logged
charger Downunder
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,372


70 RT SE Y09 Export car


« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2011, 04:34:41 PM »

Isnt this the ones at Mega Parts
Plug and play
http://www.megapartsusa.com/search.asp?pg=1&stext=voltage&sprice=&stype=&scat=
Logged

[/quote]
charger Downunder
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,372


70 RT SE Y09 Export car


« Reply #6 on: July 06, 2011, 04:40:01 PM »


From rte website
http://rt-eng.com/mediawiki/index.php/Dash-Worx_ABlimiter
Logged

[/quote]
flyboyedwards
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 87



« Reply #7 on: July 07, 2011, 05:12:17 PM »



Thanks for the help!! Mega Parts is close to me too!!  I just didn't want to trust the old style one one the new cluster!
Jason.
Logged
solids0be
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67



« Reply #8 on: July 20, 2011, 07:25:57 PM »

1973 standard cluster

When reinstalling the regulator is there a companion wire that goes into one of the slots? Ive ordered a new Regulator cause mine was bad but looking at the cluster from under the dash im seeing a black wire with a 90 degree male connector that leads to a cylinder thats mounted near the Ampmeter..does this plug into the slots along with the regulator..possibly the ground?
Logged
A383Wing
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,120


Old, Lost & Confuzed


« Reply #9 on: July 20, 2011, 07:29:36 PM »

no...that spade terminal goes into the 12v power for the regulator
Logged
solids0be
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67



« Reply #10 on: July 21, 2011, 06:41:07 AM »

no...that spade terminal goes into the 12v power for the regulator

Thanks brah, the Chilton Manual didn't say anything about it.
Logged
A383Wing
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,120


Old, Lost & Confuzed


« Reply #11 on: July 21, 2011, 06:13:23 PM »

if you are putting in the new style electronic regulator for the gauges, you don't need to use that round cylinder that was connected with the OE style points regulator
Logged
solids0be
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67



« Reply #12 on: July 21, 2011, 07:50:44 PM »

No I bought a Borg warner cheapy off amazon for 20 bucks.
Logged
A383Wing
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,120


Old, Lost & Confuzed


« Reply #13 on: July 21, 2011, 08:01:03 PM »

No I bought a Borg warner cheapy off amazon for 20 bucks.

then you need to keep that round thingy with the 1 wire pigtail on the dash cluster. That wire that has the spade on it goes into the slot where the regulator goes..but it must go into the slot that has the 12v when key is on...then install the regulator .....so you will have 2 terminals in one of the dash slots
Logged
440
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,666



« Reply #14 on: July 21, 2011, 08:07:58 PM »

One thing to watch out for as I learned the hard way is that if your running electronic ignition to PLEASE use a solid state voltage regular. Mine failed and wiped out the instrument regulator which in turn wiped out the gauges which required a re-core. From what I've read it's usually the other way around and it wipes out the ignition box but my regulator failed first.

When we first tested the regulator the output voltage was fine, put the new cluster in and the ammeter gauge started to smoke... Upon testing the regulator again it was spiking to 17+v which would have killed them again !!! All because the switching type regulator was intermittently failing.

Just thought I'd post this as a heads up to maybe save someone some trouble...
Logged
A383Wing
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,120


Old, Lost & Confuzed


« Reply #15 on: July 21, 2011, 09:18:17 PM »

yea...that's why it's better to use an electronic style regulator....

funny how that white smoke makes things work
Logged
solids0be
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67



« Reply #16 on: July 22, 2011, 05:55:08 AM »

Im assuming you mean the regulator inside the engine bay if so that whole scenerio would explain what happened to my cars electrical system. My ignition module in my breakerless distributer got wiped out the same day my gauges went crazy and my cars been dead in the water since...Ill be carefull when I put it all back together especially seeing that I bought both the new module and the ignitiuon reg at the same time online, ill find out sometime next week.
Logged
440
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 2,666



« Reply #17 on: July 22, 2011, 07:42:30 AM »

Yes the voltage regulator in the engine bay... It was the cause of all my electrical problems too. Just luckily we caught it in time before it damaged the gauges again !!! Sounds like you have a similar problem. If you have a switching regulator pull it off and look at the back of it and see if you can see any burned spots, I'd also test it with a multimeter while the car is running and watch the voltage. Mine would make contact and if you tapped it it would cut in and out causing the voltage to spike. Don't use a switching regulator with EI or it will probably happen again.

Still waiting on my solid state VR-1 regulator to arrive so I can finally put this one to bed. It would be interesting to see what your test results are  yesnod

 cheers   
Logged
solids0be
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67



« Reply #18 on: July 22, 2011, 12:04:35 PM »

well ive been running the Black Mopar regulator im pretty sure its solid state though...regardless ill have to have it checked out before I put everything back together. Would it make sense that when I revved my engine at the time of my issues started I was blowing out my fusable links?
Logged
A383Wing
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 11,120


Old, Lost & Confuzed


« Reply #19 on: July 22, 2011, 07:13:14 PM »

there's one way to tell if the regulator is solid state or points style...flip is over...does it have coil type resistors under it? If yes, it's points style...loose it
Logged
solids0be
Junior Member
**
Offline Offline

Posts: 67



« Reply #20 on: August 01, 2011, 06:57:36 PM »

uhgg fried another instrument regulator..it was acting a little weird kinda bouncing then failed hard while adjusting my timing. This is after I installed a new alternator (78AMP) new voltage regulator and new MSD blaster coil....SO im guessing a bad ground on my cluster probobaly did it in.or it was just a bad unit.so yeah 20 bucks down the drain....I might do the homemade conversion this time around seeing that I have 2 old regs to experiment with.
Logged
resq302
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6,656


Whats black and white and red all over.......


« Reply #21 on: August 02, 2011, 08:11:32 PM »

This is the one that I got and I've had no regrets.  I got mine from RTE though but this is probably the same thing.
 http://www.megapartsusa.com/proddetail.asp?prod=163%2DVL101
Logged

Brian
1969 Dodge Charger (factory 4 speed, H code 383 engine,  AACA Senior winner, 2008 Concours d'Elegance participant, 2009 Concours d'Elegance award winner)
1970 Challenger Convert. factory #'s matching red inter. w/ white body.  318 car built 9/28/69 (AACA Senior winner)
1969 Plymough GTX convertible - original sheet metal, #'s matching drivetrain, T3 Honey Bronze, 1 of 701 produced, 1 of 362 with 440 4 bbl - auto
MaximRecoil
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,210


« Reply #22 on: August 06, 2011, 08:05:41 PM »

When doing your own solid state regulator conversion using the 7805 chip, does the capacitor go between the output pin and the ground pin on the chip, or does it go between the input pin and the ground pin on the chip?

I read the Moparts Tech Archive article, specifically the section titled "info from 340_6Pak_cuda", and it says:
Quote
Figure6. Here I have attatched a capacitor to the IC. The capacitor takes the place of the condensor(external).(Radio Shack 10uF cap #272-1025) The stock condenser should not be used with this conversion. To attatch the capacitor, solder the negative lead directly to the ground(middle) leg of the IC. Next solder the positive side of the capacitor to the input leg of the IC. Refer to the diagram below for the orientation of the input/output on the IC. This will also be printed on the back of the package. Protect the output capacitor lead from shorting out on the case by placing a piece of heat shrink tubing on it before soldering.

That seems simple enough, i.e., he says the capacitor goes between the input and ground pins of the chip. However, in his last sentence he refers to it as the "output capacitor lead", which seems to indicate that the capacitor's positive lead is connected to the output pin rather than the input pin.
Logged
y3chargerrt
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 1,047



« Reply #23 on: August 07, 2011, 04:39:35 AM »

The cap filters the incomming 12 volts. Make sure you use a heat sink. A 7805 WILL get hot. I love the RTE regulator because it stays cool. Good luck
Logged
resq302
Old Timer
*****
Offline Offline

Posts: 6,656


Whats black and white and red all over.......


« Reply #24 on: August 07, 2011, 07:54:08 AM »

The cap filters the incomming 12 volts. Make sure you use a heat sink. A 7805 WILL get hot. I love the RTE regulator because it stays cool. Good luck

I agree.  I did the "build it yourself" conversion before going to Carlisle last year and it got way too hot for me.  Hot enough that you would burn your finger if you touched it.  Seeing (and feeling) that, I ordered up the one from RTE and it is nice and cool and does not get hot.  There is even a red LED light that blinks to let you know it is functioning properly.
Logged

Brian
1969 Dodge Charger (factory 4 speed, H code 383 engine,  AACA Senior winner, 2008 Concours d'Elegance participant, 2009 Concours d'Elegance award winner)
1970 Challenger Convert. factory #'s matching red inter. w/ white body.  318 car built 9/28/69 (AACA Senior winner)
1969 Plymough GTX convertible - original sheet metal, #'s matching drivetrain, T3 Honey Bronze, 1 of 701 produced, 1 of 362 with 440 4 bbl - auto
Pages: [1] 2  All   Go Up
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.068 seconds with 17 queries.