News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

newbie needing a little help.

Started by jeffsjag90, August 03, 2011, 08:41:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jeffsjag90

Hello all My name is Jeff. I am in Waco Texas. I just bought my first Mopar a 69 charger. It have common rust issues trunk,trunk drop-offs,light bar,valance,trunk,gutters,deckfiller panel and the right quarter. I have bought all new AMD metal. I am new to panel replacement so I have a few questions. I have trunk pan removed along with light bar valancec and valance corners. I need to know where to begin. I know I need to put trunk pan in first but what do I use to line it up correctly? Should I make it flush with rear frame support? Should I weld drop-offs on first? After I get pan and drop-offs in my plan is to screw everything together for alignment then remove right quarter,both gutters,and deck filler.Then screw all those pieces in place macking sure all is well then plug weld it all up. If anyone can give me some advice or some sort off step by step it would be greatly appreciated! I will post some pics as I get some downloaded.

b5blue

I'm no help but... WELCOME!   :wave:   (Get the photos up so we can see!  :2thumbs:)

JerseyJoe

Don't even plug the welder in until you clamp the whole thing together.
   I just finished my rear clip with mostly AMD parts, they are nice quality but anything that wasn't made for your car by Chrysler in 1969 will have to be fit and massaged.  :Twocents:

I started with lots of pics and measurements, held on to the old panels in case I needed another look at how they went together, and then started at sail panels and door edges.

... but it's not as difficult as it seems right now  :2thumbs:

Mike DC