News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

'70 Bulkhead Connector/Wiring Help Please

Started by imabozo, May 13, 2013, 08:56:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

imabozo

Hi guys,

I'm new to the Charger game, so please forgive my obvious lack of knowledge. I was troubleshooting some electrical issues last night (70 Charger R/T) and found a blown inline fuse, 15A/Glass, between the battery and the bulkhead connector going through the firewall. While pulling the fuse out, the wire either slipped out or broke off of the connector. This particular wire is not original and is a heavier gauge than the rest. It looks like there is a terminator or connector left in the hole for the wire. I'm looking for any info on how the wires are terminated in this bulkhead connector. I don't want to play around too much and disturb or break the connectors. Are the braided ends just inserted in the connector? Or are there crimp-on pieces that I should place on the end of the wire before inserting in the bulkhead connector. Also, it looks like these bulkhead connectors are in three sections, or perhaps its just my eyes. Can they be pried apart for a closer look? I'm not sure how much pressure to apply before something breaks.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Steve

RECHRGD