News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

440 fuel pump install question

Started by sgt72charger, November 17, 2013, 06:43:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

sgt72charger

Do I need to remove the threaded insert underneath where the mechanical fuel pump goes in order to install it?
the actual portion that goes into the block will not sit correctly is there a trick.  sorry for the dumb question im new to mechanical fuel pumps

also can i just route a rubber line from the pump to the carb or does it need to be a hard line ?
heat is the issue i assume ?
Sgt Burgos K.J.  USMC
/Oo ___A___ oO\
|=_/________\=|

Hard Charger

you may need to remove the plug underneath the pump however try gently grabbing the rod with a some pliers. Push it back up into the block and if your lucky it will stay up until you pop the new fuel pump in. This actuator rod pushes against the pump lever.
otherwise you will need to take the plug out and push the rod up with a punch.

cudaken

Sargent, are we talking BB or SB? My self I am a BB guy.

Couple of tricks.

First make sure the fuel pump cam drive loop is not contacting the drive rod. After the pump is off see how much play the rod has. Then bump the starter and check again. Try to install the pump and keep going till you get it in.

Second, if the rod keeps sliding down and in the way. Dab some wheel bearing grease on the rod and then shove it back up and have at it again.

Third, if it is getting to be a real pain in the ass, pull the alternator. On a BB you have easy access and room to work. I replaced mine on the 68 Road Runner this summer and with the alternator off I did it in 10 minutes. I was replacing the alternator anyway.