News:

It appears that the upgrade forces a login and many, many of you have forgotten your passwords and didn't set up any reminders. Contact me directly through helpmelogin@dodgecharger.com and I'll help sort it out.

Main Menu

use original fenders or not??

Started by austinpalibroda, March 15, 2006, 12:40:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

austinpalibroda

I'm working on my 69 charger and its gonna be a daily or weekend driver at least.  i bought it dirt cheap in pretty good shape and it has the original fenders on it, in mint shape.  i was wondering if i should put fiberglass fenders on instead, and save the originals for later because to the best of my knowledge, they're pretty valuable.  since i'm gonna use this charger as a daily driver, i figured mabey just use fiberglass instead, wont feel so bad if they get damaged and they'll be lighter too i guess haha. does this seem like a good idea, anybody done this before too?
Canadian Mopar Boy.

Blown70

You can use glass but be careful when you drive.  I do not think it will be wrong to want to save the originals.

Also, You will need to make an inner structure for the fiberglass to prevent sagging.

Tom

austinpalibroda

right on, good advice thanks.  fiberglass is cheap and i know a guy or two thats done the same thing as well
Canadian Mopar Boy.

Mike DC

Yeah, a set of original '69 Fenders is getting pretty expensive.  If you're not opposed to running a fiberglass set just on principle then it's a pretty smart idea for preservation of the parts.

You could also dig up a rusty-ass set of steel fenders and fix them up the best you can, storing the clean originals away.

694spdRT